Regular and Substantive Interaction: Context, Future, and Advice

In the wake of the U.S. Department of Education Office of Inspector General’s recommendation regarding Western Governors University, questions about federal financial aid for innovative delivery models for higher education have been raised. The webcast will examine the intersection of delivery modes (such as distance education and competency-based education), federal financial aid regulations, quality, and fraud prevention. The presenters will review recent efforts to define key terms such as “regular and substantive interaction” and “instructor.”

    Join us on Thursday November 16, at 10:00 AM MT for a free WCET Webcast. Follow the Twitter feed at #WCETwebcast.

    webcast logo

    This webcast is provided free and open to all.  
    The webcast will run for 60 minutes and take place via GoToWebinar.

    November 16: 7:00 AM HAST / 8:00 AM AKST / 9:00 AM PST / 10:00 AM MST / 11:00 AM CST / Noon EST

    Speakers will also discuss how our communities might engage in this critical dialogue.

    Presenters:

    Van DavisVan Davis
    Associate Vice President,
    Higher Education Policy & Research,
    Blackboard Inc.

     

    Melissa HabermanMelissa Haberman
    Director of Financial Aid,
    UW Flexible Option,
    University of Wisconsin-Extension

     

    Laura PedrickLaura Pedrick
    Special Assistant to the Provost for Strategic Initiatives and Executive Director of UWM Online,
    University of Wisconsin Milwaukee

     

     

    Amanda SharpAmanda Sharp
    Online Instruction Manager,
    National Association of Student Financial Aid Administrators (NASFAA)

     

     

     

     

    Moderator:

    Russ PoulinRuss Poulin
    Director of Policy and Analysis,
    WCET