SANsational Awards

SANsational Award logo

The SANsational Award recognizes outstanding efforts by SAN member institutions and organizations in developing a high-quality, comprehensive solution to a challenging state authorization issue. 

The SANsational Award recognizes member achievements and publicizes their accomplishments. This award is meant to showcase good practice in state authorization work while encouraging others to strive for continued progress. 

SANsational Award winners.
The 2016 SANsational Award winners, presented in Minneapolis at the WCET Annual Meeting – October 2016. 

2016 Awardees

The 2016 SANsational Award winners are categorized into two categories:

  • Location: How do you identify where your students are located?
    • Northern Arizona University
  • Institutional Authorization:  Notifications and disclosures for institutional state authorizations and compliance status
    • University of New Mexico

University of Northern Arizona logoUniversity of New Mexico logo

Press Release for the 2016 SANsational Awards.

2017 Call for Nominations

The call for nominations for the 2017 awards will open in late April. Submissions are due by 11:59PM MDT on Sunday, July 16, 2017 (note extended deadline!) and must be sent to Marianne Boeke, (303)-497-0357. Application information available as a PDF here.

2017 Award Criteria

SANsational Award will be awarded separately in each of the following categories:

  • Location: How do you identify where your students are located?
  • Institutional Authorization: Notifications and disclosures for institutional state authorizations and compliance status.
  • Licensure Programs: Notifications and disclosures for professional licensure program status in each state.

Works nominated for the SANsational Award should:

  • Present solutions that meet the requirements and needs of regulators, the institution, and (most especially) students.
  • Demonstrate a clear, comprehensive, and elegant solution to meeting compliance requirements.
  • Exhibit capability to be adapted or replicated as a model for others.

WCET SAN Members (institutions, organizations, or corporations) in good standing are eligible to be nominated for a WCET SANsational Award. Members may nominate themselves for the award. Look at your own campus and to those of your network for successful works that meet the WCET SAN criteria. Encourage your colleagues to submit a nomination.

Awardee Recognition

Recipients of the 2017 WCET SANsational Award will:

  • Be recognized in a WCET press release.
  • Be recognized on the WCET SAN web pages as an award winner.
  • Be recognized at the 2017 WCET Annual Meeting SAN Workshop to be held October 25-27, 2017 in Denver, Colorado.
  • Be allowed to display the WCET SANsational Award logo on their website and printed materials indicating that they have been awarded the 2017 WCET SANsational Award.

Previous Award Winners

2015 Award Winners:

  • Licensure Programs: Notifications and Disclosures for Professional Licensure
    • The University of Minnesota
  • Institutional Authorization: Notifications and Disclosures for State Authorization
    • Drexel University
  • Location: How Do You Identify Where Your Students Are?
    • New York University
    • University of Louisville

Press Release for the 2015 SANsational Awards.


On the process or status of nominations: Marianne Boeke.
On the suitability of a potential nomination: Cheryl Dowd.