WCET Welcomes New 2016 Steering Committee Members

The Steering Committee advises WCET on programmatic issues of interest to the membership at-large and leads and/or contributes to activities in support of WCET’s programs and membership, upon the request of the Steering Committee Chair and Executive Director. The Steering Committee is representative of the WCET membership and are elected by their peers.

The newly elected members will begin their terms at the 2016 WCET Annual Meeting in Minneapolis, Minnesota, October 12-14, 2016. WCET congratulates the following individuals on their election to your cooperative’s Steering Committee:

David DannenbergDavid Dannenberg
Director, Academic Innovations & eLearning
University of Alaska Anchorage

Dannenberg leads UAA’s efforts to innovate teaching through the use of instructional technology. He has expanded online student service offerings, established new and innovative professional development pathways, established an ePortfolio initiative, and redesigned the unit’s instructional design and development processes. He is Co-Executive Editor of The AAEEBL ePortfolio Review and has multiple publications on the use of technology in education.


Deb GearhartDeb Gearhart
Director of Operations, Division of Continuing and Distance Education
University of South Dakota

Gearhart has worked in the field of online and distance education for 30 years.  She has served as Vice Provost for eLearning and Strategic Partnerships at Ohio University, Director of eTROY at Troy University, Director of E-Education Services at Dakota State University in Madison, South Dakota, and before joining Dakota State she held several positions with the Department of Distance Education at Penn State, now Penn State World Campus. She co-authored a textbook entitled Designing and Developing Web-Based Instruction and has edited and published other publications related to online and distance education.


Shari MillerShari Miller
Director of Compliance for State Authorization
Northern Arizona University

Miller is responsible for creating and maintaining relationships with higher education regulatory agencies and professional licensure regulatory agencies outside of Arizona (nationally and internationally) to ensure NAU is compliant with the respective state laws/regulations wherever it has a physical presence.  She is a founding member of the Arizona SARA Council. Previously, she was the student legal counsel for NAU and practiced health care and pharmacy regulatory law (including professional licensure) for two boutique health law firms.


Kara MonroeKara Monroe
Vice President for Academic Innovation and Support
Ivy Tech Community College

Monroe provides leadership in the areas of academic technology, alternative delivery models, academic support services (library, learning support services, etc.), online learning, and faculty and student development appropriate to supporting these areas.  Ivy Tech is the largest singly-accredited statewide community college system in the U.S.  She has a wide array of experience and interests in higher education including new pathways to credentials, alternative delivery methods, increasing and improving professional development opportunities and experiences for all faculty, and improving academic support services for students.  


Jason RuckertJason Ruckert
Vice Chancellor, Online Education
Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University-Worldwide

Ruckert is responsible for the overall strategy of online education at Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University. He is ambitious, with a reputation for innovation and advanced technology utilization. He is currently accountable for the development, delivery, and quality control of all online (synchronous and asynchronous) courses for our  the 3 distinct campuses. He provides leadership and oversight of online student advisement, online faculty quality control, academic technology and online instructional design and development. He is also responsible for the growth of online courses which are utilized by more than 150 branch campuses and over 26,000 students worldwide.


New Steering Committee Leadership

WCET is pleased to announce that Nick White, Director, Competency-Based Learning Solutions at Capella University, and Tanya Spilovoy, Director, Distance Education and State Authorization, North Dakota University System will be leading the Steering Committee during the 2016-2017 year. They were elected recently by their peers to lead the Steering Committee as the chair and vice chair respectively. WCET looks forward to a productive year ahead under their leadership.