Navigating the OPM Marketplace: Picking the Right Partners While Avoiding Market Chaos

Online Program Management (OPM) companies have been around for two decades, helping colleges and universities create scalable online programs, in a growing and important market. The OPM market is a chaotic one, however, and it would be a mistake for a school to evaluate the market without understanding the changing vendor landscape and underlying trends. Online education in general is entering its next generation, moving beyond traditional course designs and with a new set of stakeholders and institutional capabilities, and it is becoming more difficult to view online and face-to-face as binary choices. Furthermore, there is growing public debates about revenue-sharing vs. fee-for-service pricing as well as emerging regulatory challenges such as seen in California this summer. In this presentation we share our view of the major trends affecting the OPM market and the implications for colleges and universities. Bring your questions and experiences. WCET is also looking to develop model agreements to share with the community and next steps will be discussed.

Register today for “Navigating the OPM Marketplace: Picking the Right Partners While Avoiding Market Chaos” on September 26 at 8:00 AM HADT/9:00 AM AKDT/ 10:00 AM PDT and MST/ 11:00 AM MDT/ Noon CDT/ 1:00 PM EDT. WCET webcasts take place via Zoom.

Follow the Twitter feed at #WCETwebcast. The webcast is free and open to all.
The webcast will be recorded and available on the webpage with captions shortly after the live session. If you prefer live captioning during the webcast, please contact us.

Speaker:

Phil HillPhil Hill
Mindwires Consulting,
Phil Hill (@PhilOnEdTech) is a consultant, speaker, blogger and market analyst. Hill has analyzed the growth of technology-enabled change for educational institutions, uncovering and describing the major trends and implications for the broader market. His unique graphics and visual presentations have been widely used in the industry. As an independent consultant, he helps educational institutions, technology and content vendors, and policy makers as they consider and implement new initiatives. Hill’s clients have included Western Governors University, California Community College System, Iowa State University, Bournemouth University, Pearson Education, Coursera, and others.