The Forgotten Students - Understanding the Student Completion Crisis in Higher Ed and Emerging Solutions

Each year, over a million students drop out of college or university—some 31 million Americans in the last two decades. In fact, only 48.3% of first-time, full-time students at public universities graduate within six years, prompting academic leaders, like Arizona State University President Michael Crow, to dub this a “completion crisis.”  These drop-outs and stop-outs are “The Forgotten Students.”

In this “Forgotten Student” webcast, we will discuss:

  • The Impact of the completion crisis on students, institutions, and the workforce.
  • Debunking common myths about “Forgotten Students.”
  • Why bringing back stop-out students is challenging.
  • New approaches to the completion crisis - including the science of re-entry.

Join us on Tuesday October 2, 10:00 AM MDT for a free WCET Webcast. Follow the Twitter feed at #WCETwebcast.

This webcast is provided free and open to all. The webcast will run for 60 minutes and take place via GoToWebinar.

The webcast will be recorded and available on the webpage with captions shortly after the live session. If you prefer live captioning during the webcast please contact us.

Tuesday, October 2 6:00 AM HAST/ 8:00 AM AKDT/ 9:00 AM PDT and MST/ 10:00 AM MDT/ 11:00 AM CDT/ Noon EDT.

Speakers:

Sarah HornSarah Horn
CEO,
ReUp

 

 

Tracy RobinsonTracy Robinson
Director, Innovative Academic Initiatives,
University of Memphis

 

 

Moderator:

Cali MorrisonCali Morrison
Associate Dean,
Alternative Learning,
American Public University System