The Sally M. Johnstone Award

2019 award logo

The Sally M. Johnstone award is named after WCET's founding executive director. Sally led WCET from 1989 to 2006, creating the basis for the organization which is the leader in the practice, policy, and advocacy of technology-enhanced learning in higher education. From WCET, Sally has gone on to leadership positions at several institutions, continuing to be an advocate for student success and technology in higher education.

This award recognizes a professional who has made an outsized contribution for their 'rank' to the technology-enhanced learning community with the intention of recognizing thought leadership, excellence in practice, and demonstrated leadership capabilities. This award is meant to honor up and coming leaders in higher education.

Eligibility Criteria:

  • Professionals who have an outsized contribution for their 'rank' to the technology-enhanced learning community.
  • Professionals who have not achieved the rank of senior leadership at their institution.
  • Demonstrated leadership, including thought leadership, in an area effecting technology-enhanced teaching and learning including policy and practice related arenas.
  • Candidates must not be a current member of the WCET staff, steering committee, or executive council.
  • Candidates must be affiliated with a WCET member institution, organization, or cooperation that is in good standing.

Nominations may be submitted by the individual under consideration or by a colleague, supervisor, or other interested party.

Nomination Requirements:

  • Up to two pages addressing how the candidate meets the eligibility criteria, including evidence of contributions to the technology-enhanced teaching and learning community.
  • Resume or Curriculum Vitae for the nominee.
  • Two--three letters of reference (inclusion of one external to the candidate's home organization is recommended but not required).

There will be one award recipient chosen each year and honored at the WCET Annual Meeting during the annual awards lunch. The 2019 recipient will be notified ahead of time and will receive a travel stipend to attend the 2019 Annual Meeting.

All nomination materials should be sent to the WCET Awards team at no later than September 19, 2019. An award committee will evaluate the nominations and select a winner who will be notified by the end of September.

2019 Sally M. Johnstone Award Winner

Congratulations to Crystal Faulkner, Instructional Technology Support Manager at Austin Peay University!

When nominating Crystal Faulkner for the 2019 award, her colleagues advised that she is a thought leader in educational technology who strives to “be a forerunning in the field.” She is an accomplished presenter and her work has been used as a case study for the implementation of successful educational technologies and is active outside of her institution to create educational content for faculty. One of her most impressive projects was working to connect distance education students with services such as research assistance through her institution’s library. This is just one of the many ways her colleagues highlighted when showcasing how she is focused on elevating the online student experience for her institution and promoting student success.

Read more about this year's WCET Award Winners.

Previous Sally M. Johnstone Award Winners

2018 - Heather Nash, University of Alaska Anchorage

2017 - Bucky Dodd, University of Central Oklahoma

2016 - Dale Johnson, Arizona State University