×

National Consortium of Open Educational Resources (NCOER)

OverviewNCOER partner organizations.

NCOER is a partnership of the four higher education regional compacts focused on increasing access, affordability, and equity of open educational resources (OER). OER are high-quality teaching and learning materials that are free for educators and students to use, customize, and share. These partners engage new opportunities to enable substantial research, develop open education solutions that promote equitable learning, and support coordination across regions to scale and sustain use of OER across the country.

WCET – the WICHE Cooperative for Educational Technologies, leads the collaborative efforts of the NCOER Network by facilitating work between the four compacts: Midwestern Higher Education Compact (MHEC), New England Board of Higher Education (NEBHE), Southern Regional Education Board (SREB), and Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education (WICHE). This partnership expands current OER efforts in each region, which are led by each specific compact.

The regional compacts are trusted resources and share a common responsibility for assisting and promoting the adoption and scaling of open education. Each has a structure in place with staff highly knowledgeable in policy and practice. Through involvement in one or more of the four compacts, potentially all 50 states, the District of Columbia, territories, and freely associated states may participate in the NCOER Network. The compacts are uniquely positioned to work with their members to explore the value of OER, and WCET’s role as convener makes processes more streamlined.

Compact Partners

Contacts in Each Region

WCET

Tanya Spilovoy

Director, Open Policy, WCET


tspilovoy@wiche.edu

Russ Poulin

Executive Director, WCET & Vice President for Technology-Enhanced Education, WICHE


303-541-0305

rpoulin@wiche.edu

@RussPoulin

LinkedIn Profile

Midwestern Higher Education Compact (MHEC)

Jenny Parks

Vice President of Policy and Research, Midwestern Higher Education Compact


jennyp@mhec.org

Southern Regional Education Board (SREB)

Tiffany Harrison

Research Associate, Education Technology and Multistate Cooperative Programs, Southern Regional Education Board


tiffany.harrison@sreb.org

Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education (WICHE)

Liliana Diaz

Policy Analyst, Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education


ldiaz@wiche.edu

Patrick Lane

Vice President, Policy Analysis and Research, Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education


plane@wiche.edu

New England Board of Education (NEBHE)

Lindsey Gumb

Fellow, Open Education, New England Board of Higher Education


lgumb@nebhe.org