eLearning Consortia Innovations from CA and NY

WCET has long supported multi-institution consortia in their collective efforts to improve services for their member institutions and, ultimately, their students. In this webcast, we will hear about recent innovations at two of the largest consortia in North America.

The California State University’s Course Redesign with Technology program was developed in response to the enrollment bottlenecks that many students were experiencing, limiting their ability to progress toward graduation. The program is focused on systemwide adoption and adaptation of previously redesigned courses that have documented increases in the proportion of students successfully completing. Courses use strategies such as flipped classrooms, virtual labs, supplemental instruction, affordable learning solutions, and more.

New York took a different path as it built on a rich history of innovation in instruction within the State University of New York (SUNY). Open SUNY was introduced in 2014 to support campuses and faculty in increasing access, completion, and success for their students. They also created their own open-focused SUNY Affordable Learning Solutions initiative.

The webcast is provided free and open to all. WCET has moved to GoToWebinar for its webcasts which allows up to 1,000 participants.  Follow the Twitter feed at #WCETwebcast.

Register today for the WCET webcast, " eLearning Consortia Innovations from California and New York" on June 14 at 1:00 p.m.  MDT. The free webcast will run for 60 minutes. The webcast will take place via GoToWebinar.

An archive of this webcast will be available on this webpage by June 21.

9:00 AM Hawaii/11:00 AM Alaska/Noon PDT and Arizona/1 PM MDT/2 CDT/3 EDT

 

Moderator:

Kevin CorcoranKevin Corcoran
Executive Director,
Connecticut Distance Learning Consortium

 

 

 

Presenters:

Gerry HanleyGerry Hanley
Assistant Vice Chancellor, Academic Technology Services
Executive Director, MERLOT
The California State University, Office of the Chancellor

 

 

Kim ScalzoKim Scalzo
Executive Director,
Open SUNY