Organizing and Supporting Successful Multi-Institution Consortia

By working together, we can accomplish more than we can on our own. That is the goal of multi-institutional consortia.

This is the first in a series of webcasts about consortia, which are organizations that foster inter-institutional partnerships to share resources with the goal of increasing the institutional capacity for technology-mediated courses and programs. They take many forms (depending on local needs and politics) and vary greatly in the services they offer.

We will hear about organizational, funding, governance models, and lessons learned that you can apply in your own settings from three very different, yet successful, consortia:

  • John Opper, Florida Virtual Campus – “Working collaboratively with Florida’s 12 public universities, 28 public colleges, K-12 school districts, and other partners, FLVC provides free services to help students go to college, succeed in school, prepare for career success, and in life after graduation.”
  • Lena Patterson, eCampus Ontario – “A not-for-profit corporation, is funded by the Government of Ontario to be a centre of excellence in online and technology-enabled learning for all publicly-funded colleges and universities in Ontario.”
  • Thomas Gilhooley, Online Consortium of Independent Colleges and Universities – “Member institutions are able to draw upon each other’s expertise in various coursework fields, thus expanding their offerings to their students.”

Join us on Tuesday, April 3, at Noon MDT for a free WCET Webcast. Follow the Twitter feed at #WCETwebcast.

This webcast is provided free and open to all.

The webcast will run for 60 minutes and take place via GoToWebinar.

The webcast will be recorded and available on the webpage shortly after the live session.

Tuesday, April 3, 9:00 AM HAST/ 10:00 AM AKDT/ 11:00 AM PDT and MST/ 12:00 PM MDT/ 1:00 PM CDT/ 2:00 PM EDT

Presenters:

Thomas GilhoolyThomas Gilhooly
Executive Director,
Higher Learning Partners, Regis University

 

 

John OpperJohn Opper
Executive Director, Distance Learning and Student Services,
Florida Virtual Campus

 

 

Lena PattersonLena Patterson
Operations Director,
eCampus Ontario

 

 

Moderators:

Kevin CorcoranKevin Corcoran
Executive Director,
Connecticut Distance Learning Consortium

 

 

Tina ParscalTina Parscal
Executive Director,
CCCOnline